☁️The one about daydreaming

We’re all in the same boat, waiting for July to end so that everyone will be back at their desks. I say this all the time, but I want to reassure you that most people are happy to help you, be it job search or with a new skill or just if you have some questions for them.

29th of July ‘24

Italy Chronicles pt. 3

My dear!

It’s still me, still in Italy, although it’s my last week here 🥲 The next newsletter you’ll receive it’ll already be sent from my beloved desk in Vantaa (don’t judge).

Throughout the years I’ve traveled a bit, some for fun and some for work. There are a few cities that I really ended up loving. Barcelona stole my heart with the seafood paella, the art and the music. In Riga I met wonderful people and saw how the startup ecosystem is buzzing. Krakow is a city with history but that knows how to have fun.

Every time I spend a week or so in a place I grow fond of, I start planning a move. I would LOVE to live in Krakow - especially with a job that pays in euros. I have a Polish partner so I wouldn’t be so out of my depth. But I never end up moving!

Truth is living in Finland spoiled me. I’m accustomed to efficient public transportation, not having roommates, being able to sort all my affairs online. I could never downgrade! I think the one thing Finland is missing is human touch, I crave seeing new people and new opportunities.

I’m still (painfully) unemployed, maybe if I get a remote job I could consider a few months as a digital nomad!

Mara, daydreaming 😴🥱

Find me on Instagram as @amarenabandivan

💡Always keep in mind…

Start the season with a bang

We’re all in the same boat, waiting for July to end so that everyone will be back at their desks. I say this all the time, but I want to reassure you that most people are happy to help you, be it job search or with a new skill or just if you have some questions for them.

For the new season (it’s still summer but IDK, schools start and so on so it feels like a new season!) I’m recommending you to get in touch with people you think you’d like to know on Linkedin and schedule a coffee date, virtual or in person. If you need help with marketing, comms, or sparring for a new business idea, I’m always available!

🍃Have you…

🎬 Watch: The Yara Gambirasio Case: Beyond Reasonable Doubt

Ok, this is a true crime recommendation so it might not be for everyone. I was still in Italy when this case started and saw the whole thing on TV back then. The defense is arguing for the innocence of the dude they arrested and they made this docuseries with their “proof”. Watch it and reach out cause I need someone to discuss it!!!

✹ Events

Espoo Career Club

Career Club is a 2-month career development programme for highly educated professionals living in Espoo. The programme focuses on gaining relevant skills, knowledge and networks, and strongly supports the participants' agency and self-determination.

Applications close on August 2nd!

✹ We are looking for…

Senior Software Engineer @ Swappie

“You will collaborate actively with other engineers, Product Managers, Designers, Analysts, leads and other stakeholders. Projects include systems support and repair network, developing new capabilities for device diagnostics, and intra-facility logistics. Raise the bar of technical excellence

✧That moment when ✧

☁️Friendly reminder

Taking the time to appreciate what you have can shift your focus from what you lack to what you are fortunate to have.

Like this reading? Reply with your feedback :)

Don’t forget to share this newsletter to another incredible job seeking friend around you. It would mean the world to us :)

Hit respond to this email with suggestions, feedback, requests or even just to say HEIPA! It makes it all worth it!

29th of July ‘24

Reply

or to participate.