The one about volunteering šŸ“

26th of August ā€˜24

Plans for the fall?

Hello, my darling!

After a scorching (for Finnish standards) weekend, Iā€™ve been left longing for fall. My Italian summers used to end in mid-September officially, when school starts again, but right now I feel like the last week of August is already verging into autumn territory.

The arrival of the fall means one good thing though, that event season is about to start. As many of you might know, Iā€™m a die-hard event girly. I did marketing for Junction for a hot minute, was involved with Slush and Ultrahack, and now Iā€™m manipulating all the women I know to start their own company with wednesday.

I like to think that without having been a volunteer, I would never have landed a real job in Finland. When no one was giving me a chance to prove myself, volunteering was the outlet to grab as much responsibility as I could with both hands and learn the ropes in no time. As a student who knew nothing, I still could lead teams, voice my ideas, and execute them to the best of my ability.

If you have time, will, and a need for work experience thereā€™s no time like the present - apply to be a volunteer! Everyone is looking and I can guarantee youā€™ll have a great time šŸ„°

Mara, constructing šŸŒ±

Find me on Instagram as @amarenabandivan

šŸ’”Always keep in mindā€¦

Train your body and your mind

I debated for a few weeks whether this topic would make me sound crazy uncool. I begrudgingly go to the gym, but I ecstatically exercise my big fat brain.

I love sudoku, crosswords, and all kinds of brain teasers. I read somewhere ages ago that doing crosswords regularly could prevent dementia so for all of my high school career I solved at least 4 a day. I think that study was debunked now but I do believe you should give it a try. LinkedIn now has daily games you could pick up, or you could start with Wordle. Iā€™m still trying to transition to English games - but Iā€™m a sudoku ace if you need a teacher!

šŸƒHave youā€¦

šŸ“š Read: I'm Glad My Mom Died by Jennette McCurdy

Iā€™m late to the hype, I know. I love drama so I had this book in my reading list for years. I finally gave it a go and itā€™s GOOD. Jennette has a tormented relationship with her mother, ever since childhood, and stardom did nothing but morph it to something even worse. Itā€™s a good read, whether you like memoirs or not. As I did for Julia Fox, I recommend listening to the audiobook version narrated by the author šŸ“

āœ¹ Events

Female Volunteer Recruitment Day
2.9. at 17:45 - Maria01

What do the women leading Aaltoes, Dash, Junction and Slush have in common? Yes, they all started their journeys as volunteers!

Thinking about volunteering but need some insider advice? Come learn everything you need to know about the volunteering opportunities in the ecosystem.

Enjoy snacks, drinks, and great companyā€”and don't forget to bring your friends!

āœ§That moment when āœ§

āŒ›Our Progress Update

Profile testing has started!!!

Keep an eye on our slack channels for updates and how we take the testers advice.

ā˜ļøFriendly reminder

ā

Life does not get better by chance, it gets better by change. Grab all the chances you can, but you are the driver for a better tomorrow!

Like this reading? :)

Donā€™t forget to share this newsletter with another incredible job-seeking friend around you. It would mean the world to us :)

Respond to this email with ideas you would like us to add.

Reply

or to participate.